Re: [flalug] Spamming spammers?

From: Steve Litt (slitt@troubleshooters.com)
Date: Wed Mar 23 2005 - 14:35:35 EST


On Tuesday 22 March 2005 09:50 pm, Chad Perrin wrote:
>
> Steve: Is this you?
>
> from dialup-4.238.20.110.dial1.orlando1.level3.net ([4.238.20.110]
> helo=mydesk.domain.cxm) by pop-a065c10.pas.sa.earthlink.net with esmtp
> (Exim 3.33 #1) id 1DDoez-00012z-00 for flalug@nks.net; Tue, 22 Mar 2005
> 11:03:25 -0800

Abso-lutely! It's me, Steve Litt, AKA SteveT.

I actually found flalug through you. Looking through the archives of another
list, I asked myself, "who's this Chad Perrin who doesn't put up with a lot
of *(*#$^ from the local troll". So I googled you, found you on flalug, liked
flalug, and joined.

>
> Instructions . . .
>
> Step 1: View email headers. (See above example of relevant data.)
>
> Step 2: Get data from headers that identify your target.

That's my question. Which header identifies the SMTP server that sent the
thing out, as opposed to the user that sent it out.

SteveT
 
Steve Litt
Founder and acting president: GoLUG
http://www.golug.org



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Fri Aug 01 2014 - 20:21:02 EDT